Error. Page cannot be displayed. Please contact your service provider for more details. (12)

Hugo Award List 2006 | Creation Robot
Creation Robot random header image

Hugo Award List 2006

April 4th, 2006 · No Comments

The Hugo award list was announced the other day, and it breaks down like this:

Best Novel

(430 ballots cast.)

* Learning the World by Ken MacLeod (Orbit; Tor)
* A Feast for Crows by George R.R. Martin (Voyager; Bantam Spectra)
* Old Man’s War by John Scalzi (Tor)
* Accelerando by Charles Stross (Ace; Orbit)
* Spin by Robert Charles Wilson (Tor)

Best Novella

(243 ballots cast.)

* Burn by James Patrick Kelly (Tachyon) [Updated 04-Apr-2006]
* “Magic for Beginners” by Kelly Link (Magic for Beginners, Small Beer Press; Fantasy & Science Fiction September 2005)
* “The Little Goddess” by Ian McDonald (Asimov’s June 2005)
* “Identify Theft by Robert J. Sawyer (Down These Dark Spaceways, SFBC)
* “Inside Job” by Connie Willis (Asimov’s January 2005)

Best Novelette

(207 ballots cast.)

* “The Calorie Man” by Paolo Bacigalupi (Fantasy & Science Fiction October/November 2005)
* “Two Hearts” by Peter S. Beagle (Fantasy & Science Fiction October/November 2005)
* “TelePresence” by Michael A. Burstein (Analog July/August 2005)
* “I, Robot” by Cory Doctorow (The Infinite Matrix February 15, 2005)
* “The King of Where-I-Go” by Howard Waldrop (SCI FICTION December 7, 2005)

Best Short Story

(278 ballots cast.)

* “Seventy-Five Years” by Michael A. Burstein (Analog January/February 2005)
* “The Clockwork Atom Bomb” by Dominic Green (Interzone May/June 2005)
* “Singing My Sister Down” by Margo Lanagan (Black Juice, Allen & Unwin; Eos)
* “Tk’tk’tk” by David D. Levine (Asimov’s March 2005)
* “Down Memory Lane” by Mike Resnick (Asimov’s April/May 2005)

Best Related Book

(197 ballots cast.)

* Transformations: The Story of the Science Fiction Magazines from 1950 to 1970 by Mike Ashley (Liverpool)
* The SEX Column and Other Misprints by David Langford (Cosmos)
* Science Fiction Quotations edited by Gary Westfahl (Yale)
* Storyteller: Writing Lessons and More from 27 Years of the Clarion Writers’ Workshop by Kate Wilhelm (Small Beer Press)
* Soundings: Reviews 1992-1996 by Gary K. Wolfe (Beccon)

Best Dramatic Presentation, Long Form

(364 ballots cast.)

* Batman Begins Story, David S. Goyer. Screenplay, Christopher Nolan and David S. Goyer. Based on the character created, Bob Kane. Directed, Christopher Nolan. (Warner Bros.)
* The Chronicles of Narnia: The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe Screenplay, Ann Peacock and Andrew Adamson and Christopher Markus & Stephen McFeely. Based on the novel, C.S. Lewis. Directed, Andrew Adamson. (Walt Disney Pictures/Walden Media)
* Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire Screenplay, Steven Kloves. Based on the novel, J.K. Rowling. Directed, Mike Newell. (Warner Bros.)
* Serenity Written & Directed, Joss Whedon. (Universal Pictures/Mutant Enemy, Inc.)
* Wallace & Gromit in the Curse of the Were-Rabbit Screenplay, Steve Box & Nick Park and Bob Baker and Mark Burton. Directed, Nick Park & Steve Box. (Dreamworks Animation/Aardman Animation).

Best Dramatic Presentation, Short Form

(261 ballots cast. There are seven nominees due to a tie for fifth place.)

* Battlestar Galactica “Pegasus” Written, Anne Cofell Saunders. Directed, Michael Rymer. (NBC Universal/British Sky Broadcasting)
* Doctor Who “Dalek” Written, Robert Shearman. Directed, Joe Ahearne. (BBC Wales/BBC1)
* Doctor Who “The Empty Child” & “The Doctor Dances” Written, Steven Moffat. Directed, James Hawes. (BBC Wales/BBC1)
* Doctor Who “Father’s Day” Written, Paul Cornell. Directed, Joe Ahearne. (BBC Wales/BBC1)
* Jack-Jack Attack Written & Directed, Brad Bird. (Walt Disney Pictures/Pixar Animation)
* Lucas Back in Anger Written, Phil Raines and Ian Sorensen. Directed, Phil Raines. (Reductio Ad Absurdum Productions)
* Prix Victor Hugo Awards Ceremony (Opening Speech and Framing Sequences). Written and performed, Paul McAuley and Kim Newman. Directed, Mike & Debby Moir. (Interaction Events)

Best Professional Editor

(293 ballots cast.)

* Ellen Datlow (SCI FICTION and anthologies)
* David G. Hartwell (Tor Books; Year’s Best SF)
* Stanley Schmidt (Analog)
* Gordon Van Gelder (Fantasy & Science Fiction)
* Sheila Williams (Asimov’s)

Best Professional Artist

(230 ballots cast. There are six nominees due to a tie for fifth place.)

* Jim Burns
* Bob Eggleton
* Donato Giancola
* Stephan Martiniere
* John Picacio
* Michael Whelan

Best Semiprozine

(219 ballots cast.)

* Ansible edited by Dave Langford
* Emerald City edited by Cheryl Morgan
* Interzone edited by Andy Cox
* Locus edited by Charles N. Brown, Kirsten Gong-Wong, & Liza Groen Trombi
* The New York Review of Science Fiction edited by Kathryn Cramer, David G. Hartwell & Kevin J. Maroney

Best Fanzine

(176 ballots cast.)

* Banana Wings edited, Claire Brialey and Mark Plummer (request copy of Banana Wings)
* Challenger edited, Guy H. Lillian III
* Chunga edited, Andy Hooper, Randy Byers & carl juarez [Updated 04-Apr-2006]
* File 770 edited by Mike Glyer
* Plokta edited, Alison Scott, Steve Davies & Mike Scott

Best Fan Writer

(202 ballots cast.)

* Claire Brialey
* John Hertz [Updated 04-Apr-2006]
* Dave Langford
* Cheryl Morgan
* Steven H Silver

Best Fan Artist

(154 ballots cast.)

* Brad Foster
* Teddy Harvia
* Sue Mason
* Steve Stiles
* Frank Wu

John W. Campbell Award for Best New Writer

[Not a Hugo. An award for the best new writer whose first work of science fiction or fantasy appeared during 2004 or 2005 in a professional publication. Sponsored by Dell Magazines.]

(186 ballots cast. There are six nominees due to a tie for fifth place.)

* K.J. Bishop (2nd year of eligibility)
* Sarah Monette (2nd year of eligibility)
* Chris Roberson (2nd year of eligibility)
* Brandon Sanderson (1st year of eligibility)
* John Scalzi (1st year of eligibility)
* Steph Swainston (2nd year of eligibility)


Category: CreationRobot · Writing

0 responses so far ↓

  • There are no comments yet...Kick things off by filling out the form below.

Leave a Comment