Facebook Security Guide | Creation Robot
Creation Robot random header image

Facebook Security Guide

April 16th, 2012 · No Comments

Do you use Facebook but not trust that Facebook’s default security is good enough? Welcome to the majority! 

This is my guide to making your Facebook account secure. Well, as secure as it can be and still be nice and usable.

It’s pretty easy, just follow each of the steps right through to the end.

Anyone can do it – and it is free.

The whole guide is after the jump…

Don’t forget to visit Story A Week for some great free stories!

2012 Facebook Lockdown Guide


This document is written in a geeky version of business speak. You’ll just have to get over it, I don’t have time to rewrite this so that it is less nerdy. This guide is provided as is and is not connected to my employer in any way and neither I, nor they, hold liability. Nor is it connected to Facebook in in any way. Use entirely at your own risk – from http://www.creationrobot.com


This is a short guide on how to secure Facebook. It keeps Facebook usable but won’t allow anyone to view your private information, unless you friend them. It will also prevent people logging on from unauthorised devices even if your account was compromised through click-jacking or phishing.

Action, Check, Post

These are three steps to go through when using social media:

Action: Whatever the action it is you are performing – writing, posting a picture or singing on YouTube.
Check: Pause and check before you press post. What does this reveal? How can this be used against me by the worst person I could imagine?
Post: Pressing that send button.


Within Facebook

Security

Log in > (Look to top right of screen, use down arrow) Account settings > Security
Disable Secure browsing if it is enabled (This is a required step or everything below fails. This gets enabled again later in the document.)

Account settings > Login notifications – enabled
Account settings > Login approvals – required
Account settings > Apps – remove ALL non-essential Apps by pressing X next to App name
Account settings > Mobile – make sure only your current phone is listed here
Account settings > Payments

  • Remove any payment methods saved
  • Check currency is CDN dollar

Account settings > Facebook Adverts

  • Edit third party advert settings – no-one
  • Edit social advert settings – no-one

Privacy

(Look to top right of screen, use down arrow) Account settings > Privacy Settings

Privacy settings > Select Custom > This sets your default post level. Who can see your every post without you selecting privacy settings every time. List here who you want to see your default posts, or more usefully, who you don’t want to see your posts.

Privacy settings > How you connect – These settings will allow you to be found by name, and let them contact you, but restrict anything further until they are ‘friends’:

  • Who can look up your profile by name or contact info? – Everyone
  • Who can send you friend requests? – Everyone
  • Who can send you Facebook messages? – Everyone
  • Who can post on your Wall/Timeline? – Friends
  • Who can see Wall/Timeline posts by others on your profile? Note: Stories about Likes, friendships and some other types of wall content aren’t included in these settings.) – Friends


Privacy settings > How tags work >

  • Profile review – On
  • Tag review – On
  • Maximum profile visibility – Friends
  • Tag suggestions – Not yet available in Canada but in future – Off
  • Friends can check you into places – Off


Privacy settings > Apps and websites >

  • Apps you use – Already done earlier in this guide
  • How people bring your info to apps they use – Untick all
  • Instant Personalisation – Not yet available in Canada but in future – Off
  • Public search – Make sure Enable public search is not ticked


Privacy settings > Limit the audience for past posts – Limit old posts This setting turns all your old public posts into ‘friends only’ posts. This only works on public posts you made in the past, not custom or more restricted posts.

Privacy settings > Blocked people and Apps >

  • Add friends to your restricted list – Edit list This setting allows you to create a restricted list of friends you already have, the people in this list will only ever see your Public posts. They are not made aware of being placed on the restricted list.
  • Block users – Block users, they are not informed of this action
  • Block app invites
  • Block event invitations
  • Block apps – Makes sure an app can never access your details again.

Last step

Account settings > Security > Enable Secure browsing – save changes

Done!

Facebook’s ‘Opt in Security Features’ page (as of Apr 2012): https://www.facebook.com/help/?page=132501803490562

Don’t forget to visit Story A Week for some great free stories!

Category: CreationRobot · News

0 responses so far ↓

  • There are no comments yet...Kick things off by filling out the form below.

Leave a Comment